h1

Something to Listen To: I Teach Math

September 17, 2009

Or at least I did. I’m about to head off for China (leaving the country on October 6th), and I’m all sorts of busy and stressing to make this all work how I want it to (an attempt at a residence permit just fell through, which is freaking me out).  But I didn’t want to lose you all, so here’s something . . .

So – I taught a Music Production class this year, and the kids did some great things. However, since it’s their work, I don’t feel like I should be sharing it publicly (maybe a couple of them will let me if I ask). Instead, here’s a song I wrote for the kids, using a beat one of my students made (with some added flourishes by me).

5 comments

  1. Nice Blog, Can you tell me more about half chinese and half american community in Portland please? Thank you.


  2. Hey there,

    I’ve been a long-time follower of your blog but have just today checked in after a several-month hiatus. Congrats on the decision to move to China! I’m curious about what city you’re going to … and being a half-white, half-Chinese American who’s lived in China the past five years I’d like to also say if you have any questions about living here, preparing to come here, what to pack (!), etc. please don’t hesitate to drop me an e-mail.

    Second, I’m not sure if you’re aware of this, but in case you aren’t I should mention that ALL the major foreign blogging sites (including blogspot and wordpress–as well as Youtube and Facebook) are currently and indefinitely BLOCKED in China, so if you intend to keep up the blog from behind the Great Firewall I’d highly recommend you subscribe to a VPN so that you can get around the blocks … though if your goal will be to attract readers in mainland China you’ll probably need to move servers yet again. It’s a total pain in the ass, to be frank, but, you know. There are ups and downs of every place, right?


  3. Jane –
    I just sent you off an e-mail, so be on the lookout for an e-mail from an unknown name that references “the CVT.” Out of curiosity, though – if all these sites are blocked, how have you been able to read this blog?


  4. CVT-

    you can get around the China firewall by buying a VPN, or by using proxy sites. Also, I love, love, love your blog.


  5. When in China, I would recommend NOT hanging out with the Western expatriate community–especially White Anglo ex-pats.

    They tend to be some of the most arrogant bastards around, with a thinly disguised sense of superiority over the “natives.”

    They combine all the worst traits of White racial AND economic privilege, reminiscient of British imperial elites the world over.

    Not a few of these Western ex-pats fancy themselves waging a new “Civilizing Mission” in everything but name.

    But instead of teaching the “heathen Chinee” about Western Christianity, these ex-pats now wish to teach them about (cough) Western democracy and human rights.



Leave a Reply

