h1

A Changing Demographic

December 4, 2009

Now, I appreciate my readers, I really do, but the CVT’s got to call it as he sees it . . .

And I know I’m not the only one who’s noticed the drastic change in my readership (at least in terms of who comments, which is my only way of knowing who’s checking this out) since I moved out here to China. Suddenly, the only people (outside of people who know me, personally – thanks Sis and A) actively participating are the ex-pat/Asian-blooded crowd.*

Now, that’s to be expected, because those folks are going to be more naturally interested and have more to say about the current topics. However, I’m just curious – how many of the rest of my old readership are still hanging around? I used to have this large black-folks contingent; did I lose you all when I started getting too "Asian" on you? Or are you still out there, but just less inclined to comment?

Consider this a role-call. Who’s still out there? My intention has never been to just continuously "preach to the choir," so for those of you still around, but not commenting – what can I do to bring you into the conversation? How can I get everybody involved and discussing with each other? I need to know.

Choptensils needs you, People.** Represent!!!

*Got to give uglyblackjohn some acknowledgement for sticking around on this one, as well.

** And this is when I disclaim away and clarify that no, I didn’t just say "you people," but I said this blog "needs you – COMMA, PAUSE – People (capitalized, as in a form of address)" . . . (and I hope you all realize I’m chuckling to myself as I write that)

18 comments

  1. Erm, I’m still reading – I think I’ve commented a few times since you left the states.


    • Ansel – my bad, you definitely did comment since I left. Now here I am “other-ing” my own readership – sorry about that. And thanks for sticking around.

      Lisa J and “isityouorme?” – thanks for chiming in. Writing a blog is a strange way to communicate with the world, so it’s good to hear you’re still following along . . .


  2. I’m part of the black readership and I’m still here. I’ve been lurking a little. I was going to comment on the last one but I read them on my rss reader first and got distracted and didn’t have a chance to click over. I’m really enjoying the posts and I was glad to hear you are getting to teach again. I also liked your Thanksgiving post!


  3. I’m kinda new (started reading just before you left the US). I us Google Reader so I can’t comment unlike I come to the site. But I do enjoy your posts and I recommend them to friends. And I am Black, if that matters.


  4. umm, I’m still reading, just being a lazy-ass. reading about your experiences in China is interesting to me because it brings in a different perspective on that part of the world. MSM only gives part of the picture if any.


  5. Looks like I picked a good time to check in on your blog. Was just looking at my phone wishing I could call you…just like that. It was great to talk with you a couple weeks ago. Let’s do it again. Consider me reading.


  6. Not part of the black readership, but I’m still here from way back when. In general I haven’t commented much on your blog since it takes me a while to think through a post and reply, and I’m often busy (or lazy…) – but I do check in regularly to read updates! And I’m very interested in your experiences/perceptions of China, since I visit every couple of years. Anyway, just wanted to let you know I’m still reading, and hopefully will manage a few comments in the future!


  7. hey, I’m a jamaican-american college student and I’ve been following your blog for about 3 months, and I’m even more excited to read about your travels in China. I love your blog so much that I used it in my International Social Work presentation of NGO work.


  8. I’m black and I’m still reading


  9. White girl checking in.


  10. I’m white and I think I’ve been reading your blog from the start. I love it and I recommend it to other people. I don’t think I’ve ever commented though. I appreciate that you address intersectionality and not just race in isolation. I’m in school to be an American Sign Language interpreter so I think about the relationship between languages and cultures a lot and your most recent post on language is fascinating.


  11. I’m black and still here…was in China when I first started reading and am now in Ghana in case you’re keeping track.


  12. hi. i’m a black woman and i’ve been following your blog since earlier this year. i don’t really like to comment but i wanted you to know that i still read your blog.


  13. hey!
    You know I am still with you always, finishing doing grades for the terms, with that preceded by finals, and holidays, and family stuff, and what not I have been less on communication! Just got caught up on the latest few blogs today!
    BTW- Still basking in the therapeutic glow of the lamp…

    Talk more soon!
    Ms. Sis


  14. Hey, Black reader here. I only commented once I think, so I’m not a big commenter in general. Also, I catch up with my blogs via Google Reader, so I can’t really comment. But I remembered this post, and decided to chime in once again.

    Found this blog by following a link to a comment you left on racialicious, I particularly like how you address intersectionality. And it’s fascinating to see transitions, from you being a teacher and the perspectives there to being in China and seeing the awareness and growth that takes place when we immerse ourselves in a new place. I’m generation 1.5 immigrant (moved to ‘merica from Trinidad when I was 6, became a citizen at 15) and bicultural (mom is Trini, dad is Jamaican), so a lot what you say resonates with me in different ways.

    Best,
    JunePearl


  15. Again – thanks to all for chiming in and reading. Good to hear you’re all out there. Especially wanted to thank those of you who have been reading for a while but not necessarily commenting – nice to hear from you folks. Please continue to follow along . . .


  16. @ Kadi –
    Way late here – but it’s hard for me to handle my comments well here in Shanghai . . . anyway, I’m flattered and curious, what aspect of my blog did you use in your presentation? I’d love to hear more about that one . . . Wow.


  17. I use the post you did “On Globlization”. Your experience with the NGO mirrors the “new” trend in ISW. Where people are actually listening to what the people voice as needs and are not dictating but collaborating. Taking into account cultural differences and allowing for feedback and change. Your post worked really well and I got an A in that class! šŸ˜€

    Hope your travels in China continue to bring instructive inspiration!



Leave a Reply

